Art+Feminism is a non-profit organization that directly addresses the inequality of gender, feminism, and the arts on Wikipedia. Through building a global community and hosting edit-a-thons around the world, we strive to close the gaps in content and with editors.

About

Wikipedia’s gender trouble is well documented. In a 2011 survey, the Wikimedia Foundation found that less than 10% of its contributors identify as female; more recent research points to 16% globally and 23% in the United States.  Further, data analysis tools and computational linguistics studies have concluded that Wikipedia has fewer and less extensive articles on women and the existence of gender biases in biographical articles. 

This is a problem.

Because when women, non-binary, people of color, and Indigenous communities are not represented in the writing and editing on the tenth most visited site in the world, information of people like us, gets skewed and misrepresented. The stories get mistold. We lose out on the real history. That’s why we’re here: to change it. 

From coffee shops and community centers to the largest museums and universities in the world, Art+Feminism leads a do-it-yourself and do-it-with-others campaign that teaches people of all gender identities and expressions to edit Wikipedia. Informed by critical pedagogy and intersectional feminist organizing principles, Art+Feminism creates training materials and step-by-step kits to support the realization of edit-a-thons. At these events, our growing global community, collectively create and update articles on Wikipedia, add images to Wikimedia Commons, expand WikiData entries, and more.

Since 2014, over 14,000 people at more than 1,100 events around the world have participated in our edit-a-thons, resulting in the creation and improvement of more than 58,000 articles on Wikipedia. To date, Art+Feminism supported events at institutions like African Women Development Fund, Accra; Spelman College, Atlanta; Mairangi Arts Centre, Auckland; Banff Centre for Arts & Creativity; Kunstmuseum Basel; National Gallery of Ireland, Dublin; Van Abbemuseum, Eindhoven; MAMCO, Geneva; The Menil Collection, Houston; M+, West Kowloon Cultural District and Asia Art Archive, Hong Kong; Kathmandu Living Labs; Muzeum Sztuki, Lodz; Tate, London; Los Angeles County Museum of Art; Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal; Moscow Museum of Modern Art; Yale University, New Haven; Interference Archive, New York; The Museum of Modern Art, New York; Archives Nationales, Paris; Rome MAXXI; Museo Nacional de Bellas Artes, Santiago; University of St. Andrews; Art Gallery of Ontario, Toronto; Blitz, Valletta; Smithsonian American Art Museum, Washington, DC; and Afroleadership, Yaoundé.

Participants created pages for artists like Unity Bainbridge; Tina Charlie; Otelia Cromwell; Zackary Drucker; Akwaeke Emezi; Aurora Reyes Flores; LaToya Ruby Frazier; Che Gossett; Camille Henrot; Heresies Collective; Juliana Huxtable; Liz Magic Laser; Park McArthur; Divya Mehra; Anne Pasternak; and Tuesday Smillie.

Foreign Policy Magazine named the founders Leading Global Thinkers, and publications including Artforum, The New York Times, The New Yorker, CBC, Canadian Art covered the project.

Materials

A full re-design of our training and organizing materials is forthcoming. Until then, please visit our meet-up page on Wikipedia to review our current materials.  

Events

People learn to edit, update, and add articles to Wikipedia at our edit-a-thons. Anyone and everyone interested in learning more about editing Wikipedia, regardless of experience, gender, or background, is welcome to attend. These events are held year-round at museums, coffee shops, colleges, community centers, and elsewhere, though the  majority of Art+Feminism edit-a-thons take place in March.

Click here  to share you event details and click here to view events taking place internationally.

People

Board of Directors

Michael Mandiberg

Acting Board President

Artist; Professor of Media Culture at the College of Staten Island/CUNY and Doctoral Faculty at the CUNY Graduate Center

they/them

Website

Sheetal Prajapati

Acting Secretary

Faculty, School of Visual Arts; Principal, Lohar Projects

she/her

Website

Roderick Schrock

Acting Treasurer

Executive Director, Eyebeam

he/him

Website

Staff

​Kira Wisniewski

Executive Director

she/her

kira@artandfeminism.org 

Nina Yeboah

Project Administrator

she/her

nina@artandfeminism.org

Lead Co-Organizers

Amber Berson

she/her

amber@artandfeminism.org

Siân Evans

she/her

sian.k.evans@gmail.com

Jacqueline Mabey

they/them

jacqueline@failedprojects.net

Mohammed Sadat Abdulai

he/him

msabdulai@artandfeminism.org 

Regional Ambassadors: United States of America

Stacey Allan

California

she/her

stacey@artandfeminism.org

Amanda Meeks

Southwest & Midwest

she/her/they/them

amanda@artandfeminism.org

Megan O’Hearn

New York

she/her

megan@artandfeminism.org

Jaison Oliver

South

he/him

jaison@artandfeminism.org

Gabrielle Reed

New England

she/her

gabrielle@artandfeminism.org

Sophie Reverdy

Mid-Atlantic

she/her

sophie@artandfeminism.org

Taryn Tomasello

Northwest & Midwest

she/her

taryn@artandfeminism.org

Regional Ambassadors: International

Daniela Brugger

Europe/UK

she/her

daniela@artandfeminism.org

Medhavi Gandhi

South Asia

she/her

medhavi@artandfeminism.org

Gisselle Giron

Latin America

she/her

gisselle@artandfeminism.org

Walaa Abdel Manaem

Middle East

she/her

walaa@artandfeminism.org

Jessie Mi

Asia

she/her

jessie@artandfeminism.org

Juliana Monteiro

Portuguese Speaking

she/her

juliana@artandfeminism.org

Athina Petsou

Europe/UK

she/her

athina@artandfeminism.org

Sofia Stancioff

Canada

she/her

sofia@artandfeminism.org

Dominique Elaine Yao

Francophone Africa + France

she/her

dominique@artandfeminism.org

Zita Ursula Zage

Anglophone Africa

she/her

ursula@artandfeminism.org

Wiki Regional Ambassador

Founders

Siân Evans

Information Literacy and Instructional Design Librarian, Maryland Institute College of Art (MICA)

she/her

Website

Jacqueline Mabey

Assistant Curator, Paul Robeson Galleries at Rutgers University – Newark; Independent Curator, failed projects

they/them

Website

Michael Mandiberg

Artist; Professor of Media Culture at the College of Staten Island/CUNY and Doctoral Faculty at the CUNY Graduate Center

they/them

Website

Laurel Ptak

Director, Art in General

she/her

Website

Connect

A full website relaunch is coming in Spring 2020. To stay up-to-date with all things Art+Feminism, follow us on social media and sign up for our newsletter.

Art+Feminism